My Favorite Advent Hymn 4

“A shoot shall sprout from the stump of Jesse, and from his roots a bud shall blossom” — Isaiah 11:1

There’s nothing like Christmas music to set the tone and stir up our hearts for Christmas.

Nothing except  Advent music, of course, because Advent hymns are designed specifically for the Season before Christmas that we’re in now.

I have many Advent tunes I like a lot. This one, however, has always been my favorite.

Wherever you go this time of year, you are bound to hear some great holiday tunes. Make sure you alway include your daily dose of Advent tunes to the mix.

Last year I posted a number of Advent songs and invited you all to share your favorites in the comment section. Art Chartier from the Peanut Gallery shared a link to a collection of Advent hymns, which I’d like to share here again:  Hymnary.org (Advent Hymns). And I also decided to reblog that post again today.

This year I want to try something different. My intention is to post something every day during Advent. I don’t know if I can post a different Advent hymn every day, but I’ll try. There certainly are enough versions of these songs in different languages, especially if we consider Gregorian Chant. If you want to help me out with this project, please suggest some hymns to me along with your comments, and I’m sure I can feature it on one of my posts up until Christmas.

In the meantime, have a Blessed Advent!

4 comments

  1. “Lo, How a Rose Ere Blooming” is one of my favorites too! I also really like “O Come, Divine Messiah” when it is done well, with harmonies and all that. And of course the most well-known one, “Veni, Veni Emmanuel” is also a favorite of mine.
    I look forward to your posts – I only have 7 different Advent hymns on my Advent playlist right now (although including different versions and some kinda sorta Adventy songs, the list goes up to 16 tracks).

    • Correction: I forgot to add the tracks from the marvelous CD “Advent at Ephesus” by the Benedictines of Mary, Queen of Apostles. That bumps the unique songs up to 21 and the total tracks to 32.

      • Those are both on my favorites list, Fr Matthew. Actually, I would say they are at the very top of my list depending on the Week of Advent. “O Come Divine Messiah!” is great for next week, as the liturgy introduces St John the Baptist who proclaimed the Messiah. “Veni, Veni Emmanuel!” is excellent for the fourth week. Of course, they are both good at any time during Advent. I’m just thinking about the kairos of these particular songs with regard to Sunday liturgy as a kind of afterthought 🙂

        Now, this raises two questions for me and maybe you could answer them. First — I’m surprised I never even considered this before — what are the best Advent songs for the third week of Advent, Gaudete Sunday? Second, do you know any good musical versions of the “O Antiphons” (Gregorian/vernacular)?

        Thanks for sharing the name of that CD with us. A playlist of 32 songs for Advent is a really great way to set the mood. I have my Bluegrass Christmas collection, which I’ll be playing in the car all season.

Leave a Reply

